McAuliffe elected to Staten Island USBC Hall of Fame

SIUSBC Hall of Famers Ray Laursen, Sr.; Laurie McAuliffe; Nazareth Laursen; and Daniel Moffit

SIUSBC HallofFame LapelLaurie McAuliffe became the sixth member to be called for induction into the Staten Island United States Bowling Congress (USBC) Hall of Fame since its formation in 2005.

She was inducted at the Staten Island USBC Championship Awards and Hall of Fame Dinner held Saturday at LiGreci’s Staaten.

It’s the highest honor for her service and dedication to the sport of bowling.

The SIUSBC Hall of Fame is separate from the Staten Island Bowling Hall of Fame.

McAuliffe, the matriarch of Staten Island bowling’s infamous McAuliffe Bowling Family, started bowling in 1973 at Victory Lanes, only later to become one of the proprietors of the former Victory Lanes from 1987 to 2004.


Laurie was invited to get involved by Betty McMorrow after taking the reins at Victory Lanes.

She has served in a leadership position with the Staten Island USBC and its predecessor organizations since 1989, serving as a director for the Staten Island Women’s Bowling Association (SIWBA) and Staten Island Young American Bowling Alliance (SIYABA).

She later served as the President of the SIYABA from 2004-2006, playing an integral part of the Transition Committee to form the Staten Island USBC.

McAuliffe continues serving as a director while chairing the Audit and Awards Dinner Committees.

She previously served on the Executive Board as the Sergeant-at-Arms from 2006-2014.

Over the years, Laurie has been recognized for her selfless dedication to the sport of bowling, including recognition by the SIWBA with its Frank Bower Service Award, induction into the Staten Island Bowling Hall of Fame in 2005 along with their Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015, and the Staten Island USBC’s Service to Bowling Award in 2013.

In addition to Laurie’s induction, local keglers were recognized for their achievements on the lanes during the 2018-19 SIUSBC Championship Tournaments, and several others will be recognized for their service to the Staten Island bowling community.

Kathy Barclay and Denise Coffaro, longtime officers of the Manic Monday Ladies League at Rab’s, were recognized as League Officers of the Year, Barbara Nasta of On Your Mark and organizers of the Nansen’s Mixed League received the Service to Bowling Awards; Joe Bruno and Daniel Block were honored with the Volunteers of the Year Award.

Laurie McAuliffe flanked by SIUSBC Vice President Daniel Moffit, SIUSBC President Jim Episcopia, and her sons Sean and Tim McAuliffe.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: